
This is how I felt last night! I have not had much sleep lately at all because Maci has been refusing to sleep unless she is being held, even then she wakes up every 1-3 hours, usually closer to 1-2 hours to eat! I will feed her as much as she wants but it makes for one tired mamma. Last night at about 9:30pm I gave her a bottle of formula (4oz) because that is what the Mother/Baby nurse said to do at night. I'm pumping during the day to be able to feed her as much as my milk as possible during the day, feeding her in the evening while I'm with her and then a bottle of formula at night so that my milk can build up a little more and I'll be able to feed her in the night if she wakes up and wants to eat. Normally she has drained me so much by the middle of the night I don't think she is getting much. Anyway, last night I gave her the bottle at 9:30pm, I then burped her and cuddled her for just a minute and she fell asleep without a fight. Most nights I have to rock her and bounce around for awhile for her to fall asleep. Maci then slept like a baby (haha)! She did wake up for a couple of minutes around I think 2am and I fed her just a little bit because she fell right back to sleep. I guess she just wanted a little snack. At about 4:15am I decided to wake her up by changing her diaper and I fed her again before I left for work. I was hoping that way she would sleep longer and daddy would get to sleep in a little bit. It worked like a charm. I think that although I really don't like having to feed her anything but my milk, she is just hungry and I will do anything to keep her happy, healthy and well rested so she can enjoy life. Maybe 6oz or so a day of formula isn't so bad after all. I don't want to jinx anything but I think we may be on to something and possibly happier in the long run. Last night although I got more sleep than I normally do, I kept waking up checking on her and then laying with my eyes open thinking about how nice it was that she was actually sleeping. What a waste of valuable sleep time. = )
Yay for sleep! I'm glad that even in a disappointment, you were able to have a good outcome. I hope tonight is even better (meaning stop being psycho and sleep!).
ReplyDeleteI'm glad for that too! I'm hoping that I can even put her in her own bed and she'll sleep for atleast a few hours with me spread out however I want in MY bed. That would be pretty cool. I'll let you know how that goes.
ReplyDeleteWe've fed Kaiya formula since she was born, and let me tell you she is an awesome sleeper! If keeps them fuller longer which makes it easier for them to sleep :) I remember when she first slept 6 hours, I didn't sleep that well because I kept checking on her to make sure she was breathing. hahaha, now she snores so I don't have to get up :)
ReplyDelete